Shortcode on front page with new update

Home Forums Modern Shortcode on front page with new update

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author

STAG
    Participant

Shortcode on front page with new update

Resolved

Hey Oliver,

first of all, thank you for your great work. Love the “old” version of the modern theme and the superb support you gave us all those years.
    Would love to update to the updated version, however I have one small problem trying it out on a local installation.

As you can see on my website website, I have 2 shortcodes running after the latest blogposts on the front page.
    So far, I am unable to get this working with the updated version.

I have to admit that I am not a coder, and only got it working with the old version of modern after days of trial and error. However, this was over one year ago and the little knowledge I had I already forgot. Would be great if you could help me replicate this design with the new version of Modern.

Oliver Juhas
    Keymaster

Hi STAG,

Thank you, I’m glad you like the theme :)

I’d say the easiest way for you to add those shortcodes is to add them directly to your front page content and then style the content using custom CSS (that way no PHP coding is required here ;) ):

.home .content-area {
    	box-shadow: none;
    }

.home .content-area .entry {
    	background: transparent;
    	color: #fff;
    }

.home .content-area .entry-header {
    	display: none;
    }

.home .content-area .entry-content-container {
    	max-width: 100%;
    	padding: 0;
    }

Also, a little tip for you: you can now control front page sections display and posts count in theme options in Appearance → Customize → Theme Options ;)

Best regards,

Oliver Juhas
    WebMan Design

STAG
    Participant

First of all, thank you once again for your quick and helpful support. Pls check your paypal ;)