Sidebar on News Archive

Home Forums Icelander Sidebar on News Archive

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

chadphilip
    Participant

Sidebar on News Archive

Resolved

Hey there! Have you noticed this support service is provided FREE of charge?
    If you like the speed and accuracy of resolutions, please consider supporting me with a small donation. Thank you

Consider a donation →

Hello,

We are using your theme for an video games accessibility website and are interested in activating the sidebar for the “News Archive” page. I am a programmer, but not so much for websites. If you could point me in the general direction on how to achieve this in the best way for the design of the theme then I should be able to figure the rest of it out on my own.

I do know that the extra space on the right side of the News Archive page is currently used for optional details about the post: “Written by”, “Number of Comments”, etc. (The options that are enabled Appearance -> Customize -> Content Options.) We have these extra details turned off for our site.

Any feedback would be appreciated.

Thanks,
    Chad

• This topic was modified 2 months, 2 weeks ago by  chadphilip.

Oliver Juhas
    Keymaster

Hi Chad,

First of all, thank you for using Icelander theme for such a beautiful website :)

I can see you are using “Minimal” blog style (can be set in Appearance → Customize → Theme Options → Blog) and I’m sorry to inform you that minimal blog style does not support sidebar on blog archive page. (I should really mention this in theme docs, but it seems I forgot… sorry for inconvenience caused!)

To be able to use a sidebar on blog archive page, please choose a different blog style. From what I can see on your website you are stripping all post meta in the blog list, so simple “List” blog style should be sufficient enough.